Marriage Licenses & Certificates
As of March 17, 2020, the County Offices are closed to the public. In order to obtain your marriage license from Mille Lacs County, please follow the following steps. Read on...
Filing Minister Credentials with Mille Lacs County To file minister/ordination credentials during the COVID-19 pandemic, please complete the following steps... Read on...
As of Wednesday, November 14, 2018, you may apply for a marriage license online via the Minnesota Official Marriage System (MOMS(R)). To apply for a marriage license, complete and submit the online application.
Within 90 days, both applicants need to appear in person at the Mille Lacs County Administrative Services Office to sign the application, show identification, and pay the license fee. A marriage license is valid for 6 months.
|Marriage License with Certificate of Premarital Education||$40|
Applying in Person
Persons may also apply for a marriage license at the Administrative Services Office. The requirements for applying for a marriage license are:
- Both parties must appear in person.
- Pay the appropriate fee.
- Both parties must be 18 years of age or older. Persons who are at least 16 years of age, but not yet 18, must have the consent of the applicants’ parents or legal custodians, or court consent with the application approved by a District Court Judge (Minnesota Statues 517).
Felony Convictions: Changing Your Legal Name on Your Marriage License Application
If you are a convicted felon and choose to change your name through the Marriage License Application process, there is an additional form required to be completed before your Marriage License can be issued. Minnesota Statute 259.13 requires you to state whether you have been convicted of a felony since August 1, 2000. The statute also requires a person who has committed a felony, under any state or federal law on or after that date, to serve notice of the application for a name change on the prosecuting authority.
If you have been convicted of a felony after August 1, 2000, and wish to change your name through marriage you are required to complete the Affidavit of Service (Change of Name) form (PDF).
The prosecuting authority has 30 days from the date they are served with notice of the application to object. During this 30-day period, the License Center may not grant the marriage license with the name change. The parties seeking the marriage license have the choice of whether to have the license granted without the name change or to delay the issuance of the license during the 30-day period.
Copies of certificates of marriage are available from the county that issued the marriage license.
Anyone can look up marriage records in MOMS, a searchable database of marriage certificates. MOMS was designed and is managed by Minnesota counties. You may request your marriage certificate online via the MOMS website or by coming into the Administrative Services Office.
If you have any questions, please call the Administrative Services Office at 320-983-8218.